Follow these steps after restoring TSM Database to earlier point in time


After a DSMSERV RESTORE DB is performed, it is recommended to do some additional steps before resuming normal operations of the TSM Server. Restore of the TSM server database to an earlier point in time can cause TSM to encounter data on disk and tapes for which it has no record, resulting in ANR1330E and ANR1331E errors. It is important to save a copy of the volume history file (volhist.out, captured by running the BACKUP VOLHIST command) on a regular basis. The information in this file can be used to reduce the amount of volume auditing that is necessary for step 4 below.

Steps to do after TSM Database Restoration

After a TSM Server restore to a previous point in time, it is necessary to ensure that the storage pool volumes are consistent with the TSM database which has been restored The following steps should be performed prior to returning the TSM server to normal use:

1. Immediately after the TSM server database is restored, place the following options into the dsmserv.opt file:

NOMIGRRECL (Prevents migration and reclamation from kicking off when the server is started)
DISABLESCHED YES (prevents any schedules from starting when the server is started)
EXPINT 0 (prevents expiration from running when the server is started) 

If set to something other than 0, change the setting to 0 and record the original setting. In step 7 we will remove or reset this option back to the original setting.

Also Read: Take TSM DB backup immediately if you notice these messages

2. Start the server in the foreground (DSMSERV)

3. When the TSM server prompt comes up, enter the command DISABLE SESSIONS so that clients will be unable to connect to the TSM Server.

4. Review the saved volhist file, and locate sequential tape or FILE volumes marked as "STGDELETE" and "STGREUSE" in the list. You will need to audit only these types of volumes created after the date of the database backup that has been restored. If the volhist file is lost or unrecoverable, then all sequential volumes must be audited. The audit command is performed as follows:
AUDIT VOLUME <volume_name> FIX=YES

Note that this command will verify the data on the volume against the entries in the TSM Server database. Any items that are not found will be removed from the TSM Server.

5. It is also necessary to audit all of the disk pool volumes with the same command above.

6. Once the audits complete, the data on the volumes will be synchronized with the TSM Database at the point in time of the last full database backup.

7. Halt the server and remove the options added in step one, nomigrrecl, disablescheds yes, and set the expinterval back to its original setting.

Also Read: Problem and Solutions for commonly seen TSM Server DB related issues

8. Restart the server as normal. Issue the command ENABLE SESSIONS so that the clients can connect to the server.

9. It is also good practice to check the actlog for any errors or warning messages (q actlog se=ANR????E begint=-4 and q actlog se=ANR????W begint=-4), and check the nodes, pools etc. just to make sure everything looks good.




What Others are Reading Now...

0 Comment to "Follow these steps after restoring TSM Database to earlier point in time"

Post a Comment